It’s Memorial Day Weekend!
Everyone’s got plans for the pool, the beach, the backyard barbecue, and making the most of this three day weekend. Just make sure throughout all of the fun and games that someone is picked as the designated driver. DUI arrests tend to go up over the holiday weekends, and aside from all of the bad things that could come of drinking and driving (i.e. serious and fatal accidents), they are RIDICULOUSLY EXPENSIVE!
How expensive? Take a look at the following breakdown for the Florida DUI First Time Minimum Penalty*:
- One Year of Supervised Probation – About $637 (Includes monthly fee, intake fee, and drug test fee)
- DUI Counter Attack Class Level 1 – $250
- Any recommended treatment for substance abuse – $200 (Based on an estimated 10 sessions @ $20/each)
- Victim Awareness Panel – $39.95
- 6 Month Driver’s License Suspension – $130+ (Hardship License Application & Reinstatement Fees)
- 50 Hours of Community Service – $250+ (If allowed to “buy out” half”)
- Fine – $500
- Insurance Rate Increase (not disclosed, but expect to pay for it for a few years!)
- Court Costs – $200-500
- Cost of Prosecution – $100
- Cost of Investigation – $150 (Average, includes arresting/investigating officer & breath center tech time, even if you don’t blow)
Total estimated amount… $2756.95 and that is NOT including an attorney’s fee which can range from $1500-$5,000! (And let’s not forget DUI Mugshot removal at about $250 per website!)
Here are some SMARTER options:
AAA’s Memorial Day Weekend Tow2Go program. Whether you are a AAA member or not, you can call for a Tow to Go ride anytime Friday, May 22nd through 6 a.m. on Tuesday, May 26th. AAA will then safely transport you and your vehicle home or somewhere safe within 10 miles.Those looking to use the service in Florida, Georgia and Tennessee can call 855-2-TOW-2-GO or 855-286-9246.
Get your UBER On. First time Uber riders can use this link for $20 towards their ride. Just be aware that rides can cost some more on a holiday weekend. (Still cheaper than a DUI!)
So this weekend, enjoy your friends, your family, your beverage of choice, but just remember to save yourself some serious time, money, and headache by drinking responsibly. Even a tow and a cab is cheaper in the long run.
If you do find yourself arrested this weekend for a DUI, the smart decision is to act fast and hire an attorney. You will have less than 10 days to request a hearing before the DMV administratively suspends your license OR to waive a hearing and apply for a hardship (with no prior alcohol related incidents on your record)! Call The Colbert Law Firm at (407) 412-7234 or #DUI from your AT&T, Sprint, or T-Mobile phone for experienced DUI Defense!
*Estimated costs based on DUI first time minimums excluding any enhancements. DUI costs rise depending upon facts, circumstances, and DUI driving history.
Original content posted 05/24/2013. Updated on 05/22/2015.